I see that I have the ability to delete those internal groups. If I remove
one (editor for example) and recreate it with the same name, will it retain
the same edit permissions?
On 9 Feb 2018 1:47 pm, "Rob Crittenden" <rcritten(a)redhat.com> wrote:
Oliver Northam via FreeIPA-users wrote:
> I'd love to use FreeIPA for all of our auth needs (wifi, samba, backups
> etc) but I'm a little lost on the configuration of the default groups.
> I have my admin user in the 'admins' group and my test user in the
> 'ipausers' group, but I can't see any permissions or roles or policies
> that define permissions in those groups. Logged in as the admin user, I
> can change all settings but as my test user, I cannot change anything.
> I also see 'editors' but can't see exactly what permissions this group
> Am I missing something or somewhere where I can change these permissions?
admins is treated as a special case and doesn't have explicit roles.
To add permissions for other users/groups add them to a role. A role has
certain privileges and privileges have permissions (atomic rights).